Skip to main content

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

Helpful resources for applying The Chicago Manual of Style standards to in-text citations, works cited pages, and formatting.

Author-Date Bibliography/Works Cited

The below examples can be used for guidance when creating bibliographic entries for your paper's bibliography. While similar to the Notes used in the text, there are some differences. Please contact a Lone Star College librarian if you have any questions.

Source Example Key
Book, one author

Jones, Julia. 2011. A History of Birds. Chicago: ALA Press.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher. 
Book, two or more authors Jones, Julia, Matt O'Connor, and Will Beene. 2014. Amazing Birds and Where to Find Them. New York: ABC Publishers. Author Last Name, First Name, First Name Last Name additional author, and First Name Last Name additional author. Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher.
Organization as Author USFWS (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service). 2018. Endangered Birds of Texas. Austin: USFWS.

*Abbreviated organization name (Full organization name). Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: **Abbreviated organization name.

*If there is no abbreviated term for organization name, just use full name. 

**This assumes organization as publisher.

Chapter from a book with an editor

O'Connor, Matt. 2005. "Tuxedos." In Favorite Fancy Birds, edited by Julia Jones, 117-25. New York: Dragon Queen Press.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Chapter title." In Book Title in Italics, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher. 
eBook online

Jones, Julia.2011. A History of Birds. Chicago: ALA Press. http://www.books.com-history-of-birds.html.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher. Web address of book location.
eBook found in library database Beene, Will. 2018. Climate Change and Birds. London: Crown Publishing. EBSCOhost. Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher. Database name.
eBook for a device King, Marcus. 2012. Avian Migrations in North American. Houston: Bayou Publishing. Kindle. Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher. Device.
 
Source Example Key
Journal Article

Jones, Julia. 2018. "Teaching Iambic Pentameter." Journal of Poetry 114, no. 3 (August): 21-36.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Title of Article."  Journal Title in Italics, Volume number, issue number: page numbers. 
Journal Article with a DOI (library database or website) Hodges, Kevin. 2017. "Modern Use of Literary Terms." American Literature Journal 5, no. 2 (March): 17-21. https://doi.org/10.233/505511. Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Title of Article."  Journal Title in Italics, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season): page numbers. doi number.
Journal Article with Stable URL Westin, Nicole. 2012. "Great American Literature." The Literary Student 12, no. 1 (Spring): 5-12. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3456879. Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."  Journal Title in Italics, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season): page numbers. Stable URL.
Journal article without a DOI (library database or website) Westin, Nicole, Kevin Hodges, and Julia Jones. 2014. "Teaching Poetry to Middle School Students." Poetry Education 8, no. 1: 27-34. Academic Search Complete. Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Title of Article."  Journal Title in Italics, Volume number, issue number: page numbers. Database name.
Source Example Key
Found in Print

O'Connor, Matt. 1972. "Damone Rocks." Rolling Stone, October 14, 1972.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Publication Date.
Found on Website

Neil, Vince. 2019. "History of Football." Texas Monthly, July 22, 2019. http://www.texasmonthly.com/history-of-football. 

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Publication Date. Web address of article location.
Found in Database

Lee, Tom. 1999. "Drumming for a Cause." Modern Drummer Magazine, February 1999. Project MUSE.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Publication Date. Database name.
Source Example Key
Found in Print

Hohler, Bob. 2004. "Red Sox Win World Series for First Time in 86 Years." Boston Globe, October 28, 2004.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Publication Date.
Found on Website

Norgren, Shay. 1979. "The Men on the Moon." Houston Chronicle, July 20, 1979. http://www.houstonchronicle/history-men-walked-on-moon.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Publication Date. Web address of article location.
Found in Database

Lopez, Jen. "Dance as Art." Los Angeles Times, April 15, 2005. Credo Reference.

Author Last Name, First Name. Publication Year. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Publication Date. Database name.