Skip to main content

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

Helpful resources for applying The Chicago Manual of Style standards to in-text citations, works cited pages, and formatting.

Bibliography / Works Cited Page Examples for CMS N&B Citation Style

Source Example Key
Book, one author

Jones, Julia. A History of Birds. Chicago: ALA Press, 2011.

Author Last Name, First Name. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher, year. 
Book, two or more authors Jones, Julia, Matt O'Connor, and Will Beene. Amazing Birds and Where to Find Them. New York: ABC Publishers, 2014. Author Last Name, First Name, First Name Last Name additional author, and First Name Last Name additional author. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher, year.
Chapter from a book with an editor

O'Connor, Matt. "Tuxedos." In Favorite Fancy Birds, edited by Julia Jones, 117-25. New York: Dragon Queen Press, 2005.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Chapter title." In Book Title in Italics, edited by Editor First Name Last Name, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, year. 
eBook online

Jones, Julia. A History of Birds. Chicago: ALA Press, 2011. http://www.books.com-history-of-birds.html.

Author Last Name, First Name. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher, year. Web address of book location.
eBook found in library database Beene, Will. Climate Change and Birds. London: Crown Publishing, 2018. eBook Collection. Author Last Name, First Name. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher, year. Database name.
eBook for a device King, Marcus. Avian Migrations in North American. Houston: Bayou Publishing, 2012. Kindle. Author Last Name, First Name. Book Title in Italics. City of Publication: Publisher, year. Device.
Source Example Key
Journal Article

Jones, Julia. "Teaching Iambic Pentameter." Journal of Poetry 114, no. 3 (August 2018): 21-36.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."  Journal Title, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season and Year): page numbers. 
Journal Article with a DOI (library database or website) Hodges, Kevin. "Modern Use of Literary Terms." American Literature Journal 5, no. 2 (Spring 2017): 17-21. https://doi.org/10.233/505511. Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."  Journal Title, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season and Year): page numbers. doi number.
Journal Article with Stable URL Westin, Nicole. "Great American Literature." The Literary Student 12, no. 1 (February 2012): 5-12. http://www.jstor.org/stable/3456879. Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."  Journal Title, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season and Year): page numbers. Stable URL.
Journal article without a DOI (library database or website) Westin, Nicole, Kevin Hodges, and Julia Jones. "Teaching Poetry to Middle School Students." Poetry Education 8, no. 1 (2018): 27-34. Academic Search Complete. Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."  Journal Title, Volume number, issue number (Publication Month or Season and Year): page numbers. Database name.
Source Example Key
Found in Print

O'Connor, Matt. "Damone Rocks." Rolling Stone, October 14, 1972.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Date.
Found on Website

Neil, Vince. "History of Football." Texas Monthly, July 22, 2019. http://www.texasmonthly.com/history-of-football. 

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Date. Web address of article location.
Found in Database

Lee, Tom. "Drumming for a Cause." Modern Drummer Magazine, February 1999. Project MUSE.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Magazine name in italics, Date. Database name.
Source Example Key
Found in Print

Hohler, Bob. "Red Sox Win World Series for First Time in 86 Years." Boston Globe, October 28, 2004.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Date.
Found on Website

Norgren, Shay. "The Men on the Moon." Houston Chronicle, July 20, 1979. http://www.houstonchronicle/history-men-walked-on-moon.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Date. Web address of article location.
Found in Database

Lopez, Jen. "Dance as Art." Los Angeles Times, April 15, 2005. Credo Reference.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Article title in quotes." Newspaper name in italics, Date. Database name.
Source Example Key
Content with Author Name

Smith, Trey. "Coding." Learn to Code. Last modified October 14, 2018. http://www.learntocode.com/coding.

Author Last Name, First Name. "Page or Article Title." Website name. Last modified date. Web address.
Content without Author Name "About Lone Star College: Fast Facts." Lone Star College. Accessed July 17, 2019. http://www.lonestar.edu/about-us-institutional-research.htm. "Page or Article Title." Website name. Accessed date. Web address.
Video Content Smith, Clint. "The Danger of Silence." Filmed July 2014 at TED@NYC. Video, 4:11. https://www.ted.com/talks/clint_smith_the_danger_of_silence. Last Name, First Name of composer, speaker, performer, or other person primarily responsible for the content. "Title of Video." Filmed date and location. Video, duration. Web address.