Skip to main content

Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide

Helpful resources for applying The Chicago Manual of Style standards to in-text citations, works cited pages, and formatting.

Notes & Bibliography In-Text Citation Examples

The below examples can be used for guidance when citing books using CMS Notes & Bibliography citation style. The first time you cite a source you will use the Full Citation Footnote/Endnote example for guidance. When citing that same source again in the document you will use the Shortened Footnote/Endnote example for guidance. 

Source Type

Full Citation Footnote or Endnote

Shortened Footnote or Endnote
Book, one author

Julia Jones, A History of Birds (Chicago: ALA Press, 2011), 100-107.

Author First and Last Name, Book Title in Italics (Publication city: Publisher name, Publication year), pages.

Jones, History of Birds, 144.

Author last name, Shortened Title, Page Number.

Book, two or three authors

Julia Jones and Matt O'Connor, The Incredible Bird Book (London: Queen Publishing, 2018), 11-30.

Authors First and Last Names, Book Title in Italics (Publication city: Publisher name, Publication year), pages.

Jones and O'Connor, Incredible Bird Book, 212.
Book, four or more authors

Julia Jones et al., Amazing Birds and Where to Find Them (New York: ABC Publishers, 2014), 200-209.

Author First Name Last Name et al., Book Title in Italics (Publication city: Publisher name, Publication year), pages.

Jones et al., Amazing Birds, 15.
Chapter/Article in Edited Book

Matt O'Connor, "Tuxedos," in Favorite Fancy Birds, ed. Julia Jones (New York: Dragon Queen Press, 2005), 117-26.

Author First and Last Name, "Chapter/Article Title," in Book Name in Italics, ed. Editor Name (Publication city: Publisher name, Publication year), pages.

O'Connor, "Tuxedos," 123.
e-book

Julia Jones, A History of Birds (Chicago: ALA Press, 2011), 100-107, http://www.books.com-history-of-birds.html.

Author First and Last Name, Book Title in Italics (Publication city: Publisher name, Publication year), pages, URL or database name.

Jones, History of Birds, 112.

The below examples can be used for guidance when citing journal articles using CMS Notes & Bibliography citation style. The first time you cite a source you will use the Full Citation Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. When citing that same source again in the document you will use the Shortened Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. 

Source Type

Full Citation Footnote or Endnote

Shortened Footnote  or Endnote
Journal Article

Julia Jones, "Teaching Iambic Pentameter," Journal of Poetry 114, no. 3 (August 2018): 23.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue number (publication Month Year): page numbers.

Jones, "Iambic Pentameter," 21-36.

Journal Article with DOI

Kevin Hodges, "Modern Use of Literary Terms," American Literature Journal 5, no. 2 (March 2017): 17-21, https://doi.org/10.233/505511.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue number (publication Month Year): page numbers, DOI address.

Hodges, "Literary Terms," 20-27.
Journal Article with Stable URL

Nicole Westin, "Great American Literature," The Literary Student 12, no. 1 (February 2012): 5-12, http://www.jstor.org/stable/3456879.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue number (publication Month Year): page numbers, URL.

Westin, "Great American Literature," 8.
Journal Article from Database, No DOI or Stable URL

Nicole Westin, Kevin Hodges, and Julia Jones, "Teaching Poetry to Middle School Students," Poetry Education 8, no. 1 (2018): 27, Academic Search Complete.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Journal Title volume number, issue number (publication Month Year): page numbers, Database Name.

Westin et al., "Teaching Poetry," 25-29.

The below examples can be used for guidance when citing newspaper and magazine articles using CMS Notes & Bibliography citation style. The first time you cite a source you will use the Full Citation Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. When citing that same source again in the document you will use the Shortened Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. 

Source Type

Full Citation Footnote or Endnote

Shortened Footnote or Endnote
Found in Print              

Matt O'Connor, "Damone Rocks," Rolling Stone, October 14, 1972, 36-37.

Bob Hohler, "Red Sox Win World Series for First Time in 86 Years," Boston Globe, October 28, 2004.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Newspaper or Magazine Title, publication date: page numbers.

O'Connor, "Damone," 38.

Hohler, "Red Sox."

Found on Website

Shay Norgren, "The Men on the Moon," Houston Chronicle, July 20, 1979, http://www.houstonchronicle/history-men-walked-on-moon.

Vince Neil, "History of Football," Texas Monthly, July 22, 2019, http://www.texasmonthly.com/history-of-football. 

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Newspaper or Magazine Title, publication date, website address for article.

Norgren, "Moon."

Neil, "Football."

Found in Database

Tom Lee, "Drumming for a Cause," Modern Drummer Magazine, February 1999, Project MUSE.

Jen Lopez, "Dance as Art," Los Angeles Times, April 15, 2005, Credo Reference.

Author First Name Last Name, "Article title," Newspaper or Magazine Title, publication date, Database Name.

Lee, "Drumming."

Lopez, "Dance."

The below examples can be used for guidance when citing website content using CMS Notes & Bibliography citation style. The first time you cite a source you will use the Full Citation Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. When citing that same source again in the document you will use the Shortened Footnote or Endnote example for guidance. 

Source Type

Full Citation Footnote or Endnote

Shortened Footnote or Endnote
With Author Name          

Trey Smith, "Coding," Learn to Code, last modified October 14, 2018, http://www.learntocode.com/coding.

Author First Name Last Name, "Page Name," Website Name, last modified date or accessed date, website page address.

Smith, "Coding."

No Author Name

"About Lone Star College: Fast Facts," Lone Star College, accessed July 17, 2019, http://www.lonestar.edu/about-us-institutional-research.htm.

"Page Name," Website Name, last modified date or accessed date, website page address.

"Lone Star Fast Facts."
Video Content

Clint Smith, "The Danger of Silence," filmed July 2014 at TED@NYC, video, 4:11, https://www.ted.com/talks/clint_smith_the_danger_of_silence.

Speaker First Name Last Name, "Video Name," filmed date and location, video, video run time, webpage address.

Smith, "Silence."