LSC-North Harris Library Research Guides: Federal Information: United States Government Information

Library Print Collection Closed

The LSC-North Harris physical library collection, including the print Government Documents Collection, is unavailable until further notice while repairs are being made to the Library building. Library Services are available in the Learning Center, ACAD 200.

Federal Depository Library

Lone Star College - North Harris Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

LSC-North Harris was granted depository status in 1974. All patrons are welcome to browse our collection of Government documents in print or access government information digitally via library computers. For assistance with government information, ask the Librarians at the Reference Desk.

GovInfo: Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

For more resources including historic cornerstone documents, see govinfo's Core Documents of U.S. Democracy

Federal Government Internet Sites

Executive Branch
Legislative Branch
Judicial Branch
USA.gov
Online guide to government information and services.

Core U.S. Government Resources

The FDLP Basic Collection consists of the Core U.S. Government resources.

Assistance Listings
Provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the U.S. Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Congress.gov
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily edition. There is also a bound edition.)
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Economic Indicators
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
The Economic Report of the President to Congress
An annual report from the President, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data (data.census.gov)
Explore Census Data from the US Census Bureau, the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Includes data profiles by subject, maps and visualizations, and industry data.
Federal Register
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders.
govinfo
A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
Official Congressional Directory
Includes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook
Resource for the most common questions about Social Security.
United States Code
The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles.
The United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the U.S. Government, providing information on the agencies from all three branches, quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Reports
Contains the final version of the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Statutes at Large
Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
USA.gov
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available.