Skip to Main Content

BUSI 1301: Major Company Research Paper

The purpose of this research guide is to help students completing the Major Company Research Project to find information and cite their sources correctly.

Selecting a Company to Research

Choosing a Company to Research

Your professor may require you to choose only companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) or the National Association of Stock Dealers Automated Quotations (NASDAQ). This video teaches you how.

When in doubt, ask your professor for approval of the company that you would like to research.

Database Basics

Database Basics

Now that you have keywords, it's time to search the databases. Have you used the databases before? If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest watching this introductory video.

Finding Company Profiles

How to Find Company Profiles

Company profiles are investor reports that have information relevant to the Major Company Research Project. The video tutorial above teaches you how to search Business Source Complete, which is linked below, for company profiles.

Database Searching

How to Search the Databases

The are four databases that you should search for information about the history, finances, marketing, products, and services of your company. This video shows how to search them.

This video is quite long. But if you follow the instructions carefully without skipping any steps, you should find enough information for your project.

The four databases featured in this video are listed below.

Searching for Ebooks

How to Search for Ebooks

You should search for information about the history of your company in our two ebook databases. The above video shows you how. The two ebook databases are linked below.

Finding Financial Data about Your Company

It's a good idea to include some financial data about your company. Yahoo! Finance is a good, quick source for this information. This video shows you how to locate relevant financial data about your company for this research assignment.

MLA Documentation

You must cite your sources according to the MLA style of documentation.

This is our video that introduces MLA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper.

This is our sample paper. You can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for MLA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.

This is our 2-page handout that summarizes the MLA style. It includes most of the types of sources that students commonly use.

Ask a Librarian

Chatappointmentemail

instagram  youtube  twitter

 

Today's Hours