There are several free, reputable sites you can use to find information about universities and colleges around the world.
Times Higher Education - Provides global higher education coverage. Find world university rankings, news, opinions, features and book reviews. Information about how to use Times Higher Education is located here.
QS World University Rankings - yearly publication by Quacquarelli Symonds, a UK-based higher education analytics company, that provides comparative data on the performance and popularity of universities worldwide.
US News & World Report - Best Global Universities - U.S. News breaks down the Best Global Universities rankings by region, country and subject.
It is now time to look for in-depth sources of information about your topic. For this purpose, we will use the library's databases. Have you used the library's databases before? If not, then we suggest watching this brief video tutorial before you proceed.
Use this database to learn more about a country's culture, language, government, geography, and more. Explore articles from encyclopedias on every country, U.S. state, Canadian province, and territory. Features maps, flags, images, videos, timelines, news, comparison tools, and measurement converters.
Looking for background information about a country? Instead of Google/Bing or Wikipedia, try Credo Reference! This database provides up-to-date and accurate information that is easy to cite.
There are several free images sites you can use to add visuals to your assignment:
*Hot tips: Be sure to cite any image you use! Refer to the MLA Style guide or reach out to your professor or librarian for guidance.
Standard citation style for Works Cited page:
Image Creator’s Last Name, First Name. “Image Title.” Website Name, Day Month Year Published, URL.
Beckwith, Michael D. "Historic University of Glasgow Courtyard View." Pexels, Jun 11, 2015, https://www.pexels.com/photo/historic-university-of-glasgow-courtyard-view-31270313/.
Use Google Earth to capture arial shots of your chosen university or college: https://earth.google.com/
General Citation Elements
When citing Google Earth, you'll generally need the following information:
Example Citation Styles
The specific format will depend on the style manual you are using.
MLA Style
Description: (in place of a title). Google Earth, (date of imagery). Location. Coordinates, Elevation. Website URL.
Example: Bora Bora, French Polynesia. Google Earth, (September 30, 2006). 16° 28' 19.76"S, 151° 45' 15.01"W, Eye alt 11049 feet. DigitalGlobe 2012. http://www.earth.google.com.
APA Style
Google. (n.d.). [Descriptive title of the map]. Retrieved Month day, year, from URL\
Example: Google. (n.d.). [Google Maps directions to drive from Colwood City Hall to Royal Roads University]. Retrieved December 4, 2019, from https://goo.gl/maps/BXdsUNzwHnzzeEes9.
You must cite your sources according to the MLA style of documentation.
This is our video that introduces MLA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper.
This is our sample paper. You can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for MLA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.
This is our 2-page handout that summarizes the MLA style. It includes most of the types of sources that students commonly use.
These are videos describing plagiarism and research fabrication - and to avoid them.
