There are many ways to access news articles through the library's website. Use the links below to find current news articles with the latest business headlines.
Chron
(Hearst/Houston Chronicle) Full-text from 1985-present of the local newspaper, including web edition stories. This is the free access side of the Houston Chronicle.
U.S. Major Dailies
(ProQuest) US Major Dailies provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8 a.m. each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Business (Gale OneFile)
(Gale) Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
Credo Reference
(Credo) Useful when you're starting out on a research project. Do simple searches to find topic introductions in a variety of subjects. The mind map tool will help you discover related ideas and terms. As you are learning new business concepts by reading current news articles, you may encounter terminology that you're unfamiliar with. Use Credo Reference to help you understand important concepts from news articles so that you can clearly express your thoughts and opinions about business topics.
Purdue Owl's Guide to Paraphrasing
Are you trying to summarize important concepts, but are unsure how to put it into your own words? Read this helpful guide to learn how to paraphrase and avoid plagiarism!
LSC-University Park Library's Guide to Paraphrasing
This helpful guide provides clear examples and tips to understand how to paraphrase well so that you can avoid poor paraphrasing and plagiarism.
Credo Reference is a database of reference books. It's a great place to begin many research tasks because the brief, concise articles in this database can teach you about your research topic before you explore more complex and detailed information sources about your topic. You can also use the articles in Credo Reference as sources of information for your research paper. The above video shows you how to search it.
Look down for a link to the database.
Now that you have keywords, it's time to search the databases. Have you used the databases before? If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest watching this introductory video.
This video shows you how to search US Major Dailies, which is a database of articles from several US national newspapers.
ABI/Inform Complete is a library database that allows you to access business news articles. Typically, you should avoid using articles that are older that 3 years old. If in doubt, consult the assignment criteria and your professor for the date range that is acceptable for your assignment.
This video tutorial shows you how to search ABI/Inform Complete.
This is our video that introduces APA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper or annotated bibliography. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper. This is our complete APA guide, which goes into more detail about citing sources and formatting correctly.
It includes our sample paper. When you're writing a paper, you can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for APA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.
