Watch the above video.
As part of the research process, you will need to develop keywords. These serve as search terms for your topic. Consider the list of issues that Prof. Garcia instructs you to address for your PowerPoint.
Let's say, for example, that you are writing about the Persian Empire. Your keywords could include:
Now that you have keywords, it's time to search the databases. Have you used the databases before? If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest watching this introductory video.
Credo Reference is a database of specialized reference books, such as historical encyclopedias and dictionaries. It's very useful for this research project.
Although it may be helpful to search for all of your keywords, to find articles about specific aspects of your topic, such as Persian architecture, it may also be helpful to just search for your topic civilization in general. So "Persian Empire" should be a search if that is your topic.
The above video shows you how to search Credo Reference. There's a link to the database below.
We have two excellent ebook databases. These let you read full-text books online. The interfaces can be confusing, so I have included a tutorial video for each one.
The video above shows you how to search the ebook database titled EBSCO eBook Collection.
The video above shows you how to search the database ProQuest EBook Central.
We have two educational video databases that are useful for this kind of research. Try searching for your person's name in both of them.
This is our video that introduces APA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper or annotated bibliography. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper. This is our complete APA guide, which goes into more detail about citing sources and formatting correctly.
It includes our sample paper. When you're writing a paper, you can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for APA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.
