Skip to Main Content

SPCH 1315: Public Speaking (Dr. Cooley)

This research guides shows students in Dr. Cooley's SPCH 1315 class how to find information for their current event, persuasion, and informative speeches.

Current Event Speeches

Download News Apps

It's a good idea to stay informed about the world around you. One way that you can do so is to download news apps to your smartphone or other mobile device.

The following websites also have news apps commonly available through cellphone providers. Consider downloading some of them to your mobile device. Otherwise, find an article from one of these news sites that you would like to use for your current event speech.

BBC News - A British news service with an international outlook founded in 1922.

Fox News - A 24-hour cable news channel based in New York City.

CNN - A 24-hour cable news channel based in Atlanta, Georgia.

Univision Noticias - Spanish-language news service broadcasting continuously since 1981.

Washington Times - A daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. since 1982.

Daily Caller - A Washington, D.C.-based news site operating since 2010.

NPR - National Public Radio, which is a national network of public radio stations partially funded by the US government.

Noticias Telemundo - Spanish-language news service headquartered in Miami, Florida. It provides news with an emphasis on Latin America and the United States.

How to Write Keywords

How to Write Keywords

To search the databases effectively, you need to develop keywords. This video explains what they are and how to do so.

Now let's think of ways to structure your keywords in ways that reflect the topics for the informative speeches, which is the most complicated of the speeches to research.

For the informative speeches, consider the name of the festival and the location, such as:

  • Tomatina and Spain
  • Carnival and Brazil
  • Harbin Ice Festival (it's in Harbin, so that's enough for the location)

For the top 10 How I Built this topics, consider the name of the business and the last name of the founder, such as:

  • Chipotle and Ellis
  • Poleton and Foley
  • Bumble and Wolfe

For the 10 Largest Philanthropic Foundations, spell out any ampersands (the & symbol) and consider just the name itself, such as:

  • Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Ford Foundation
  • David and Lucile Packard Foundation

For the 10 Strangest Unsolved Mysteries of All Time, consider reducing these topics to the most essential terms. Thus the incident at Dyatlov Pass becomes:

  • Dyatlov Pass

The question about the evidence of reincarnation found in Pollock sisters becomes:

  • Pollock and reincarnation

 

Persuasion Speeches

Database Basics

To find articles for your persuasion speeches, you will need to access the library's databases. If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest first watching this introductory video.

How to Search Issues & Controversies

The next video shows you how to search Issues & Controversies, which is the database in which you will find the articles that you need for your persuasion speeches. Each of the topics that Dr. Cooley has listed refers to a title of a specific article, so search for the chosen topic, word for word.

Informative Speeches

How to Find Information for Your Informative Speeches

Finding information for your informative speech topics is a bit more challenging than the persuasion speeches. But we have the resources at the library to help you.

Your first step is to search through the database Credo Reference. The video below teaches you how.

Credo Reference

 

Other Databases for Your Informative Speeches

The next step in database searching gets complicated. So we have created this video specifically for the task. The video shows you how to search the three databases listed below the video.

APA Documentation

This is our video that introduces APA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper or annotated bibliography. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper.

This is our complete APA guide, which goes into more detail about citing sources and formatting correctly.

It includes our sample paper. When you're writing a paper, you can model the formatting of your paper after this one.

If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for APA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.

Ask a Librarian

Ask-A-Librarian

Call

Chat

Email

In-Person

Virtual

 

instagram    YouTube    Twitter

 

Today's Hours