Skip to Main Content

Music

This is a guide designed to help students find quality resources when researching classical composers, music theory, performers, western art music, fok music and popular music.

Recommended Websites

Library of Congress National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

 

The Moldenhaur Archives at the Library of Congress

The Moldenhauer Archives at the Library of Congress contain approximately 3,500 items documenting the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era and is the richest composite gift of musical documents ever received by the Library.

 

MusicMap

Musicmap attempts to provide the ultimate genealogy of popular music genres, including their relations and history. It is the result of more than seven years of research with over200 listed sources and cross examination of many other visual genealogies. Its aim is to focus on the delicate balance between comprehensibility, accuracy and accessibility.

 

RSIM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales

The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.

 

The Met: Nineteenth Century Classical Music

From the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, find connected essays on musical topics from The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

 

DRAM Online

DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, our primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten.

 

Music Theory at EarMaster

Understanding Basic Music Theory is a comprehensive insight into the fundamental notions of music theory: music notation, rules of harmony, ear training, etc. It covers most of the topics needed to understand and develop your musical skills. This information was written by Catherine Schmidt-Jones et al. and originally published on OpenStax CNX.

 

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

An archive of performances from public broadcasting on bot the radio and on television. 

Ask a Librarian

Chatappointmentemail

instagram  youtube  twitter

 

Today's Hours