This research and analysis assignment requires several steps:
1. Identify a historical person of interest or a fictional character that you know well.
2. Gather background information about the historical person of interest.
3. Gather information about the psychological issues that you detect in the person.
4. Gather information about the treatments available for this issue.
5. Cite your sources correctly in the MLA 9 style.
It is now time to look for in-depth sources of information about your topic. For this purpose, we will use the library's databases. Have you used the library's databases before? If not, then I suggest watching this brief video tutorial before you proceed.
I think that it's useful to define the analytical task in which you are engaging in for this assignment. The genre of this assignment is psychobiography. I suggest that you read and consider incorporating this definition into your writing assignment.
Credo Reference is a database of reference books. It's a great place to begin many research tasks because the brief, concise articles in this database can teach you about your research topic before you explore more complex and detailed information sources about your topic. You can also use the articles in Credo Reference as sources of information for your research paper. The above video shows you how to search it.
For this assignment, use this database to search for:
Look down for a link to the database.
Another database that you should search is Academic Search Complete, which is a database of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles on many different subjects. The video above shows you how to search it. Look down for a link to the database.
For this assignment, use this database to search for:
This database provides full text access to several major American newspapers. For this assignment, use this database to find information about the person you are examining.
You must cite your sources according to the MLA style of documentation.
This is our video that introduces MLA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper.
This is our sample paper. You can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for MLA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.
This is our 2-page handout that summarizes the MLA style. It includes most of the types of sources that students commonly use.
