Pharmacology Videos

Pharmacology Streaming Videos

Streaming videos from the Library's databases

The following videos are just some of the titles available for students to watch for free through the Library's database collections.

To access these videos from off-campus, you will need your 14-digit library barcode number (the number on the back of your LSC ID card) or you can click the link to login using your MyLoneStar username and password.

Super Size Me

Super Size Me: The Fast-Food Industry in America
Available via Kanopy
Super Size Me 2: Holy Chicken
Available via Kanopy

Reading an EKG

EKG Interpretation and Response: Reading an EKG
Medcom, 2015. Includes:
• Assessing Normal Sinus Rhythm with the Seven Step Method (2015)
• Autonomic Nervous System Effects (2015)
• The Heart’s Conduction and Mechanical Response System (2015)
• The Heart’s Electrophysiologic Properties (2015)
• How to Calculate Heart Rate on the EKG (2015)
• Interpreting Normal EKG Waveforms (2015)
Atrial Dysrhythmias, Junctional Dysrhythmias, and Heart Block
Medcom, EKG Interpretation and Response Series. Includes :
• Atrial Fibrillation (2009)
• EKG Characteristics of Atrial Flutter (2009)
• EKG Characteristics of Premature Atrial Contractions (2009)
• Mobitz type 2, second degree heart block (2009)
• Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia or PAT (2009)
• Third degree heart block (2009)
• First degree heart block (2015)
• Junctional Dysrhythmias (2015)
• Mobitz type 1 or Wenckebach phenomena (2015)
Sinus Dysrhythmias
Medcom, EKG Interpretation and Response Series. Includes:
• Sinus pause, Sinus arrest and Sinus Block (2009)
• Sinus Tachycardia (2009)
• Sinus Arrhythmia (2015)
• Sinus Bradycardia (2015)
• Sinus Dysrhythmias (2015)
• EKG Interpretation and Response: Terminology (2015)
Ventricular Dysrhythmias and Patient Care
Medcom, EKG Interpretation and Response Series. Includes:
• Nursing Responsibilities in Caring for Patients with Dysrhythmias (2009)
• Premature Ventricular Contractions (PVC) (2009)
• Pulseless electrical activity or PEA (2009)
• Ventricular Fibrillation (2009)
• Ventricular Standstill or Asystole (2009)
• Ventricular Tachycardia (2009)

Fluids and Imbalances

Fluids and Electrolytes: Basics
Medcom. Includes:
• Overview of Fluids and Electrolytes
• Fluid Balance
• Where Fluids are in the Body
• Electrolytes and the Movement of Fluids in and out of Cells
• Electrolytes and the Movement of Fluids in and out of Capillaries
• Fluid Balance and the Kidneys
• Electrolytes Mainly Found in Extra Cellular Fluid
• Electrolytes Mainly Found Inside the Cell
• Acid Base Balance

Heart Medications

Heart Medications
Medcom. Includes:
• ACE Inhibitors (2011)
• Antianginals (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Adenosine (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Amiodarone (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Anatomy and Physiology (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Calcium Channel Blockers (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Class I Antiarrhythmic Agents (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Class II Antiarrhythmic Agents (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Class III Antiarrhythmic Agents (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Class IV Antiarrhythmic Agents (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Lidocaine (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: Reentry (2011)
• Antiarrhythmic Agents: The Conduction System (2011)
• Anticoagulants (2011)
• Antihypertensives (2011)
• Antiplatelet Agents (2011)
• Beta-blockers (2011)
• Calcium Beta-blockers (2011)
• Calcium Channel blockers (2011)
• The Cardiovascular System (2011)
• Central Adrenergic Inhibitors (2011)
• Cholesterol-lowering Medications (2011)
• Digoxin (2011)
• Diuretics (2011)
• Heart Failure (2011)
• The Heart’s Ability to Pump Blood (2011)
• Heparin (2011)
• Loop Diuretics (2011)
• Nitrates (2011)
• The Patency of the Blood Vessels (2011)
• Potassium-sparing Diuretics (2011)
• Quality and Quantity of Blood (2011)
• Thiazide diuretics (2011)
• Warfarin (2011)