Once you have made a decision, you should generate keywords. Keywords are search terms that you use when searching for information about your topic. The above video explains how you can write keywords. Watch it, then continue reading this section.
Let's pose an example: you're writing about divorce in South Korea and Canada. Your keywords could include:
You might be inclined to search for both ends of your paper like so:
It might be very helpful to you if someone had already done all of the hard work of comparing the two elements of your paper. But you're unlikely to find anything this way. What's more likely is that you will find information about divorce in South Korea and divorce in Canada. Your job is to then compare the two. You are doing the analysis, rather than simply reporting the analysis of other people.
When writing keywords or even starting social sciences research, it can be very helpful to get some background information first. A database like CREDO Reference is useful for this task. Read an article or two about your topic so that you become more familiar with it. This will make it easier to select keywords and to know if information sources that you find are actually relevant.
CREDO Reference and other background tools will also help you generate keywords that are related to your topic. Some terms related to divorce are:
These are search terms that you may also wish to try in the databases.
Now that you have keywords, it's time to search the databases. Have you used the databases before? If you don't have recent experience with our library's databases, then I suggest watching this introductory video.
The video embedded above shows you how to search Academic Search Complete, which is one of the four databases ideal for social sciences research. All four of these databases are structured the same way, so the tutorial video applies to all of them.
We have two excellent ebook databases. These let you read full-text books online. The interfaces can be confusing, so I have included a tutorial video for each one.
The video above shows you how to search the ebook database titled EBSCO eBook Collection.
The video above shows you how to search the database ProQuest EBook Central.
The library has subscriptions to databases which have educational videos. These are linked below.
This is our video that introduces APA documentation. I urge you to watch the entire video carefully before starting to write your paper or annotated bibliography. It is much easier to cite correctly as you go along, rather than try to fix your documentation after you have written your paper. This is our complete APA guide, which goes into more detail about citing sources and formatting correctly.
It includes our sample paper. When you're writing a paper, you can model the formatting of your paper after this one. If you are unsure how to set up the formatting in Microsoft Word so that it fits the requirements for APA formatting, you could instead download this blank Word document that has the formatting already set up for you.
