Hispanic Heritage Month 2025: Home

• Los Punks: We Are All We Have

  From the producers of DOGTOWN and Z-BOYS AND BONES BRIGADE: AN AUTOBIOGRAPHY comes a look at an expressive, explosive world that is known about but almost never entered by outsiders. The film, directed by renowned photographer Angela Boatwright, explores the young, mostly Hispanic, Punk scene in L.A. and finds an undeniably gritty, yet creative environment.
• Clara Sola

  In a remote village in Costa Rica, forty-year-old Clara endures a repressively religious and withdrawn life under the command of her mother. Her uncanny affinity for creatures large and small allows Clara to find solace in the natural world around her. Tension builds within the family as Clara’s younger niece approaches her quinceañera, igniting a sexual and mystical awakening in Clara, and a journey to free herself from the conventions that have dominated her life.
• Chicano! History of the Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement

  This four part landmark documentary series now a classic for Mexican American history of the U.S., chronicles the struggle for equality and social justice of the Mexican American community in the United States from 1965 to 1975. Produced from Austin Texas by Galán Productions, Inc. It features the Chicano land struggle, Cesar Chavez and the UFW, the Los Angeles High School Walk-outs and the creation of the political party La Raza Unida.
• My Name is Lopez

  Born in Dallas of undocumented Mexican immigrants, Trinidad Trini Lopez III fought his way out of the ghetto with a guitar to become a true American rock and roll legend, one of the first Latino rock stars.
• The Rose Seller

  Directed by the iconic Colombian poet and filmmaker Victor Gaviria, The Rose Seller is a poignant portrayal of life in the streets of Medellín, Colombia. Its premiere was an event that captured the attention of the entire country and has since become a cult film.
  The story follows the misfortunes of a group of girls in their early teens, all separated from their families and making a living for themselves. Monica is 13 years old and has already rebelled against everything. She has created her own world in the streets, where she courageously fights to defend what little she has
• The Squad

  Meet THE SQUAD: four fearless women of color under fifty elected in the 2018 United States House of Representatives elections. They are Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan. Get to know The Squad in this hard-hitting new political documentary
• VOCES American Historia

  Join actor John Leguizamo on a quest to uncover Latino and Latina heroes and their contributions. In this three-part series, Leguizamo takes viewers on a captivating journey, delving into both well-known and lesser-known stories of Latino history, spanning thousands of years, from the Ancient Empires to the present, and shining a light on the rich and often overlooked history of Latinos.
• Latinos Beyond Reel

  Latinos are the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. population, and among the most diverse -- accounting for one-sixth of all Americans and tracing their origins to more than 20 countries. They are also a rising force in American politics. Yet across the American media landscape, from the broadcast airwaves to cable television and Hollywood film, the reality and richness of the Latino experience are virtually nowhere to be found. In Latinos Beyond Reel, filmmakers Miguel Picker and Chyng Sun examine how US news and entertainment media portray -- and do not portray -- Latinos.
• The Latino Americans

  Latino Americans is the first major documentary series for television to chronicle the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have for the past 500-plus years helped shape what is today the United States and have become, with more than 50 million people, the largest minority group in the U.S.
  The series chronicles Latinos in the United States from the 1500's to present day. It is a story of people, politics, and culture, intersecting with much that is central to the history of the United States while also going to places where standard U.S. histories do not tend to tread. Latino Americans relies on historical accounts and personal experiences to vividly tell the stories of early settlement, conquest and immigration; of tradition and reinvention; and of anguish and celebration, from the millions of people who come to the U.S. from Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, and countries in Central and South America.

• Hispanic Heritage Month

  This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
• National Museum of the American Latino

  The Smithsonian is working to build the National Museum of the American Latino in Washington, D.C. This museum honors the dreams, challenges, and triumphs of U.S. Latinos, elevating our stories within the national narrative.
• Hispanic Heritage Foundation

  The Hispanic Heritage Foundation is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing education, workforce development, societal impact, and leadership, with culture serving as the cornerstone of its mission.
• Center for Latin American & Latino Studies

  The Center for Latin American & Latino Studies (CLALS) is a multidisciplinary center harnessing expertise from throughout the American University community and with counterparts in D.C. and around the world to serve as a catalyst for the creation of knowledge about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latino communities in the United States. Its work reflects enduring commitment to social inclusion, good governance, human security, equitable international relations, and understanding of societal challenges in the region.
• Pew Research Center: Hispanics/Latinos

  Explores the diverse views and experiences of Latinos in America with in-depth surveys and demographic snapshots. .
• Handbook of Tejano History

  The Handbook of Tejano History is the culmination of a two-year effort involving dozens of researchers, educators, students, and Texas history enthusiasts.
• UnidosUS

  The largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the US, working to create opportunities for Hispanic Americans.
• Mexican American & Latino/a Studies

  On this page you will find links to resources relevant to the history of Houston and surrounding areas. Many of these resources pertain to the Houston ship channel, environmental activism, and Hispanic and Latino/a populations. Many resources listed here link to finding aids for University of Houston Special Collections materials.
• Handbook of Texas

  A digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is freely accessible for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state's diverse population and the Modern Age. These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history.
• The Portal to Texas History

  A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
• National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

  The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
• Library of Congress

  The Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection includes millions cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; millions of manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings.
• Houston Public Library Digital Archives

  Here you will find unique materials for research, learning, and discovery from Houston Public Library Special Collections, including archival material from the African American History Research Center (AAHRC), the Family History Research Center (FHRC), and the Houston History Research Center (HHRC). Some collections are the result of collaborations with partner libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions.

• ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window

  Discover over 3 million high-quality images from prestigious museums, libraries, scholars, artists, and archives around the globe. This resource includes rare materials you won’t find anywhere else and offers a diverse array of content, such as sculptures, paintings, journalistic photographs, architecture, and much more, all cleared for educational and research purposes.
• Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window

  Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts is a digital database offering a "smorgasbord of information" for cooking and nutrition, featuring academic journals, magazines, reference books, thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry data from its founding in 1980 to the present.
• 

  Ebook Central This link opens in a new window

  Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
  Video Tutorial
• 

  EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window

  Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
• Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window

  Full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly academic journals in the Spanish language.
• 

  Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window

  Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
• 

  Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window

  Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.
• 

  Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window

  Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
• HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window

  Genealogical research materials including census records, military records, and family and local histories.
• 

  Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window

  Online music reference source includes articles from the Oxford Companion to Music, Grove dictionaries of American music, jazz , opera, and musical instruments, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
• Salud en Español This link opens in a new window

  Información sobre salud escrito para el público en general - artículos de revistas y otras fuentes. (In Spanish).
• World Geography & Culture This link opens in a new window

  Explore articles from encyclopedias on every country, U.S. state, Canadian province, and territory. Features maps, flags, images, videos, timelines, news, comparison tools, and measurement converters.