LSC-North Harris Library Research Guides: Women's History and Feminism: Home

About This Guide

Women's stories have been marginalized and ignored for much of human history. Starting In 1982, the United States began celebrating "Women's History Week" which was then extended into a month-long event in March 1987. LSC-North Harris continues the celebration by recognizing the contributions and stories of women that have not just come before us, but also those that are creating history now and in the future.

This Women's History and Feminism guide contains resources related to both women's history and current topics about feminism and the female experience. Use the tabs to jump down to specific types of materials such as eBooks, Books, Fiction books, Streaming videos, and local, state, and national websites that contain historical documentation.

If you want more women’s history and feminism resources, then please use LSC Libraries’ Discovery Search for further research.

eBooks

Book cover: Invisible Presence: The Representation of Women in French-Language Comics

Books

Book cover: African American Women Chemists

Streaming Videos

Fly With Me
This documentary tells the story of the pioneering young women who became flight attendants at a time when single women were unable to order a drink, eat alone in a restaurant, own a credit card or get a prescription for birth control. These women were on the frontlines of the battle to assert gender equality and transform the workplace. Featuring firsthand accounts, personal stories and a rich archival record, the film tells the lively and important but neglected history of the women who changed the world while flying it.
Alene Duerk: First Woman to Make Admiral
This short films tells the story of Alene B. Duerk, the first woman to earn the rank of Admiral in the U.S. Navy. Admiral Duerk served in World War II and during the Korean and Vietnam Wars. After retiring, she went on to deliver meals to the elderly before passing away in her late 90s.
Women Who Run Hollywood
Women have been omnipresent in Hollywood on the other side of the camera almost from the beginning. Think of the most successful actress, producer and business woman Mary Pickford or Frances Marion, to name but a few. Only with the arrival of the talkies the male influence in Hollywood became dominant for the next decades. With Women’s Liberation in the 70s and 80s, the tide turned again. Well educated women with university degrees took Hollywood by storm.
Donyale Luna: Supermodel
This film chronicles the remarkable life and career of Donyale Luna, the first Black model to grace the cover of both Harper's Bazaar and Vogue. Born Peggy Ann Freeman in Detroit, Michigan, Luna became a larger-than-life character who broke barriers in the fashion industry, challenged the prevailing ideals of beauty, and influenced culture - all before her untimely death at age 33.
Untold: Hidden Histories
A collection of short videos highlighting the amazing stories of women who made an impact on the world. Featuring: Barbara Jordan, Claudette Colvin, Frances Oldham Kelsey, Hedy Lamarr, Jovita Ida, Marie Van Brittain Brown, Nellie Bly, Stephanie St. Clair, and Stetson Kennedy.
Rebel Girls
A series of short videos highlighting the lives of Florence Nightingale, Boudicca, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Lilian Bland, Beatrix Potter, Grace Hopper, Queen Elizabeth I, Mary Shelley, Mary Anning, Jane Austen, Ada Lovelace, Billie Jean King, Sappho, Nefertiti, Michelle Obama, Ruby Bridges, Agatha Christie, Sophie Scholl, Nina Simone, Artemisia Gentileschi, Mae Jemison, Maya Angelou, Catherine the Great, Rigoberta Menchu, and Maryam Mirzakhani.
Untold: Women and The American Story
Videos highlighting the stories of Sally Hemmings, Sacagawea, Lozen, Polly Bemis, Vistoria Woodhull, Changunak Antisarlook; Maria Ruiz de Burton, Emma Goldman, Patsy Mink, Edith Maude Eaton, Anna May Wong, Katherine Johnson, Mary McLeond Bethune, Dorothy Bolden, Pauli Murray, Afong Moy, Antonia Pantoja, Beverly LaHaye, Chien-Shiung Wu, Elizabeth Blackwell, Elizabeth Freeman, Emma Tenayuca, Ernestine Rose, Ida B. Wells, Lorenda Holmes, Malitzen, Mary Ann Shadd Cary, Matilda Hughes, Miss Major Griffin-Gracy, Ona Judge, Sarah Winnemucca, Thomas(ine) Hall, Wilma Mankiller, Yuri Kochiyama, Shirley Chisholm, Angela Davis, Bella Abzug, Letitia Carson, Kateri Tekakwitha, Tituba, Harriet R. Gold Boudinot, Susan Clark Holley, Charity & Sylvia, and Dolley Madison.
American masters. Marian Anderson
Explore the life, career, art and legacy of the African American contralto and civil rights pioneer Marian Anderson. Anchored by key performances in her career, Marian Anderson: The Whole World in Her Hands shows how her quiet genius and breathtaking voice set the stage for Black performers in classical music, and a louder voice for civil rights.

Websites

If you need further resources that cannot be found in the LSC Libraries, then the following websites may be helpful.

Women's History Month
March is Women's History Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.
National Women's History Museum
A digital information hub for women's history resources.
Handbook of Texas
A digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is freely accessible for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state's diverse population and the Modern Age. These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history.
The Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection includes millions cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; millions of manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings.
Houston Public Library Digital Archives
Here you will find unique materials for research, learning, and discovery from Houston Public Library Special Collections, including archival material from the African American History Research Center (AAHRC), the Family History Research Center (FHRC), and the Houston History Research Center (HHRC). Some collections are the result of collaborations with partner libraries, museums, and cultural heritage institutions.

Women's History and Feminism

About This Guide

eBooks

Books

Fiction books featuring women's stories

Streaming Videos

Websites