Skip to main content

Networking for Success

E-Books Library Sources

How to Download to my device?

EBSCO eBook Collection Video Tutorial

  1. Create a free Adobe account if you do not already have one.
  2. Install Adobe Digital Editions (Help) into your computer and "authorize" the computer with your Adobe ID.
  3. Access EBSCO eBook Collection and sign in or create a "My EBSCOhost" account.
    For off-campus/Wi-Fi access, enter your fourteen digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/library card.
  4. Search or browse for an e-book.
  5. Click on Download (Offline).
  6. Click on Checkout & Download button. 
    E-book will open inside the desktop e-book reader Adobe Digital Editions. 
    You will be able to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer e-books via the "USB to device" cable to up to six devices/supported e-readers such as Nooks, Sony e-Readers, etc. 
    Note: Kindle, Kindle Touch, and Kindle DX are not compatible, however there is the option to save eBook pages as a PDF, then transferred to a Kindle.
  1. If you do not already have a personal EBSCO account:
    1. Access EBSCO eBook Collection and sign in or create a "My EBSCOhost" account.  
    2. For off-campus/Wi-Fi access, enter your fourteen digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/library card. 
    3. If you already have a personal account with EBSCO, proceed to step 2.     
  2. On your iOS device, install the EBSCO eBooks app from the App store.
  3. Tap on Authorize.
  4. In the Find My Library screen:
    1. Select the United States for the Country.
    2. Select Texas for the Subdivision.
    3. Browse the page numbers (around page 7) until you get to Lone Star College System.
  5. Search or browse for e-books.
  6. Click on Download.
  7. Enter your personal EBSCO account credentials.
  8. Select the checkout period and tap on Checkout & Download.
  9. Begin reading the title in the app, bookmark your place for later, and return it to the library's collection when finished

EBSCO eBooks App Tutorial [PDF]

  1. If you do not already have a personal EBSCO account:
    1. Access EBSCO eBook Collection and sign in or create a "My EBSCOhost" account.  
    2. For off-campus/Wi-Fi access, enter your fourteen digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/library card. 
    3. If you already have a personal account with EBSCO, proceed to step 2.     
  2. On your Android device, install the EBSCO eBooks app from the Google Play.
  3. Tap on Authorize.
  4. In the Find My Library screen:
    1. Select the United States for the Country.
    2. Select Texas for the Subdivision.
    3. Browse the page numbers (around page 7) until you get to Lone Star College System.
  5. Search or browse for e-books.
  6. Click on Download.
  7. Enter your personal EBSCO account credentials.
  8. Select the checkout period and tap on Checkout & Download.
  9. Begin reading the title in the app, bookmark your place for later, and return it to the library's collection when finished

EBSCO eBooks App Tutorial [PDF]

Using EBSCO eBook Collection in your Kindle Fire Guide (PDF)

  1. Create a free Adobe account if you do not already have one.
  2. In your Kindle Fire's web browser, navigate to EBSCO eBook Collection to create a free "My EBSCOhost" account if you do not already have one.  
    Enter your fourteen digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/library card.
  3. Install the Bluefire Reader app from the Bluefire website.
    1. Turn on the feature to "Allow the installation of apps from unknown sources" by going to Settings, More, and then Device in your Kindle Fire.
    2. On the Kindle Fire's browser, navigate to www.tinyurl.com/kindlebluefire, find and tap on the link indicated by "Tap here to download the Bluefire APK."
    3. Authorize Bluefire with your Adobe ID.
  4. On your Kindle Fire's browser navigate to http://search.ebscohost.com/ and sign in with your "My EBSCOhost" account.
  5. Uncheck other databases, and select eBook Collection, then tap on continue.
  6. Tap on Full Site.
  7. Search or browse for an e-book.
  8. Tap on Download (Offline).
  9. Select checkout period in days, and tap on Checkout & Download button.
    If prompted, select Bluefire Reader to open the e-book in your Kindle Fire.
Loading ...

Off-campus... now what?

Use your 14-digit library barcode number (located on the back of your student ID card).  Don't have an ID?  Get one from the library or fill out the online request form.

offsite

Ask a Librarian

ChatCallappointmentemail

facebookinstagramyoutubepinteresttwitter

Today's Hours